nature or nurture

22Jun08

Friday evening
Casa de Pete

The Monkey (my 11 year old cousin, for you newcomers) is watching TV. She sees an ad for something and completely loses her mind.

“Oh my God… OH MY GOD! Camp Rock!!!!!”

I stare at her blankly.

“It’s on tomorrow night, Peter! Oh no… I am going away for the weekend. I will miss it.”

“I can record it for you.”

Her mouth dropped open. “You are AWESOME.”

“It’s not a big deal.”

“It’s the Jonas brothers. Nick is sooooo awesome… and cute!”

[A couple of things… Firstly, I am not really prepared for her thinking boys are cute. Wasn’t it just last week that she was 3 years old and making me carry her everywhere? Secondly, I was telling my folks this story and couldn’t remember which of the brothers she finds cute. My dad answered way too quickly, “It must be Nick.” I don’t know what to do with that at all. And, frankly, I don’t want to think about it anymore.]

Sunday morning
Casa de Pete (Casa del Pete? Whatever.)

The phone rings. It is The Monkey, rambling on in French to whoever is in the room with her. She is still out of town.

“Did you record my movie?”

And because I am not above taking money from children. “Yes. And how are you going to pay for it?”

“With my presence.”

If there had been any doubt about whether or not we are related…

12 Responses to “nature or nurture”

  1. 1 notthelifeiordered

    HAHA!! Wow you guys really are related. Don’t worry I have no idea who the jonas brothers are either.

  2. 2 Claire

    Brilliant! The Monkey sounds like a riot!

    Cxx

  3. 3 Princess Pointful

    She’s a crafty one, alright.
    I know you watched it…. so who is your favourite?

  4. 4 Girl With Curious Hair

    Brilliant! I wish I had a Monkey. I think the world needs more smart kids like her.

  5. 5 JenBun

    Her presence is a GIFT, Peter!!! ;)

  6. 6 JP

    So did you watch is with her? How was it…. lameo?

  7. 7 nancypearlwannabe

    That’s one smart eleven year old.

  8. 8 Tia

    the monkey rocks.

    and i also recorded and watched “camp rock”. and i’m not ashamed.

    (and joe’s my favorite.)

  9. 9 Olivia (Robyn's Daughter)

    hahahahahahahahaha! thats a right scenerio. after expeiencing the pool and braclets. lol


  1. 1 Monkey B-day « PeterDeWolf.com
  2. 2 bossy little chicks and me « PeterDeWolf.com
  3. 3 “The weirdest band in the world!” « PeterDeWolf.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

