your eyes at night are big and bright

14Feb11

i smile
unknowingly
unavoidably
when that brazen little snowflake
in all its fluffy glory
lands
defiantly
on your self-trimmed bangs
i slowly reach towards it
as your big brown eyes blink
repeatedly
i touch your hair
and the flake
falls
falls
on your open hand
i kiss you
softly
lovingly
thoroughly
the flake melts
i stroke your cheek
with the back of my hand
a sigh is worth
a thousand swoons
i think
your smile
fades though
a little
wondering if
i’m disappointed
i ask
your eye brows raise
body is my first language
i say
as my fingers
hook over
the top
of your jeans
and pull you
close
the best plans to get laid
of mice and men
often go a–
wait
you laugh
your hands behind my neck
you pull me
down
down
into you
as you always have
before you knew
even
still
the night falls
stealthy flakes
decorating
us
together
i know you had plans
you whisper
between kisses
during
even
i had things set up
yeah
for weeks
but this
this
i’ve been looking for
forever

5 Responses to “your eyes at night are big and bright”

  1. Ooh Peter, that was a definite departure from epic dorkiness! Hot baby.

  2. swoooooon

  3. 3 Chaela

    I stumbled upon your blog last week, and I have spent a few days reading it. I love your posts, your letters to your FW, and the pleasure you seem to have for writing makes me smile! Thank you for brightening my day with this word doodle, and reminding me there is romance in our world still! You rock!

  4. “a sigh is worth a thousand swoons.”

    sigh.

  5. This entire poem is a snowflake. Super title too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

