just a girl on a couch

26Jun08

behind the curtain
of a ballsy fragility
there lives an ease
that was not easy
there exists a grace
that is not always graceful
beauty can mask
cheekbones that sometimes look sad
when they are smiling
even grin determination
needs downtime
the prize is still there
even if the eyes close
briefly
but
there is no more time for that
the curtain goes back up
it is show time
again

8 Responses to “just a girl on a couch”

  1. 1 sidewaysrain

    aw peter, this one is beautiful.

  2. 2 Megan

    Just wanted to tell you that I love your poems. And your stories about The Monkey and the ACN. I’m basically delurking to tell you that I like your blog. :)

    P.S. I forgive you for liking Lauren Graham.

  3. 3 JenBun

    Is this about a stripper? It is, isn’t it?!?

    (I am kidding, of course. It’s lovely.)

  4. 4 Peter

    sidewaysrain: Thanks, little Jenny!

    megan: Hi! Thanks for de-lurking, and for the kind words. And also — Hey… What do you mean you forgive me for Lauren Graham??

    jenbun: You never know. And, thanks.

  5. 5 Megan

    Just that Lauren Graham is totally mine, and I will be very upset if you get her to email/contact you before me.

    Well, except for the fact that I’m not really into girls (except her…and maybe Reese Witherspoon), and I’ve heard she likes men. So, I forgive you for stealing her away. Because really? You are much wittier than I. And we both know how Lauren loves the wit.

  6. That\’s the best awsner of all time! JMHO


  1. 1 hey, it’s a new post « PeterDeWolf.com
  2. 2 700 « PeterDeWolf.com

Leave a Reply

